Happy New Year

Well since this is the first posting for me this year 2016, Happy New Year.

Marfa is growing a little. We have a new hotel which will be ready in March, and there are more and more people moving here. I like it, it’s OK. Apparently there are more people than me who like art, peace and quiet, dry air, wine under the stars, roadrunners, javalinas, and tumbleweeds. This reminds me that in Alpine (one town over) this afternoon a cowboy type guy said that everyone in Marfa was “weird”. When my friend said “define weird” he pointed his alcohol induced wrath at Donald Judds’ cement boxes and said they were not art.  He outweighed me by a lot and seemed rather convinced of  himself so I reserved my own words on behalf of Donald Judd for the drive home. I love this funny little town and feel that it is perfectly wonderful. And so do a lot of other people. Alpine you suck. These photos are from the last 2 days, it has been cloudy.

IMG_0833 IMG_0839 IMG_0859 IMG_0861IMG_0019IMG_0793

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. What’s also weird is this TX trifecta of Marfa, Ft Davis, and Alpine – 3 really different places. You’re lucky to live in Marfa!

Leave a Reply

